There are many traffic laws here in New Jersey that are aimed at protecting pedestrians. This includes laws regarding marked crosswalks.
What legal requirements does New Jersey law place on drivers when it comes to marked crosswalks? When a pedestrian is crossing in a marked crosswalk, state law generally requires drivers to stop for the pedestrian and remain stopped during the pedestrian's crossing. If a driver is caught failing to comply with this requirement, they can face a $200 fine, 15 days of community service and other negative consequences.
Failing to stop when a pedestrian is in a marked crosswalk not only can subject a driver to penalties, it is also very dangerous. It can lead to a driver hitting a pedestrian, which can result in massive injuries to the pedestrian.
Thus, one hopes that all New Jersey drivers obey state laws regarding marked crosswalks.
Many things can play a role in what the liability situation is in a pedestrian accident. One is where specifically the accident occurred. Certain things about a pedestrian accident location, such as whether the accident occurred in a marked crosswalk, can have impacts on what sort of driver conduct would be negligent at the location.
Thus, there are a wide range of different details that can end up mattering when it comes to pedestrian accident cases. Pedestrian accident attorneys can help pedestrians who have been struck out on the roads investigate the various details of their accident to try to determine who specifically was responsible for the accident.
Source: Division of Highway Traffic Safety - State of New Jersey, "Pedestrian Safety," Accessed Feb. 26, 2015